REDISTRIBUTION STATISTICS

Enrolment Projections

2010 REDISTRIBUTION OF VICTORIA

The enrolment statistics provided by the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) have been prepared for the information of persons and organisations interested in the 2010 redistribution of electoral boundaries for 37 House of Representatives electoral divisions in Victoria.

The tables provided show the electoral enrolment figures as at 1 February 2010 and the projected enrolment figures at 17 June 2014 (the projection time for equality of enrolments for the purposes of section 63A of the *Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918*). The figures are given at the following levels:

- Census Collection District (CCD)
- Statistical Local Area (SLA)
- Electoral Division
- State.

Following a recommendation by the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters (JSCEM) that the AEC and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) work together on enrolment projections, the ABS has supplied enrolment projections to the AEC using AEC enrolment data as the base. The ABS as used a cohort-component method to project the enrolment of each CCD. The methodology is detailed in the appendices included with this document.

Divisional Returning Officers (DROs) were asked to examine the ABS projections in the light of their local knowledge and experience, and to substitute their own projections where appropriate. DROs made use of information supplied by relevant local authority planning and statistical groups, as well as their own resources in undertaking this task. The Australian Electoral Officer and State Manager for Victoria also reviewed the projections to ensure a consistent approach.

Statistics are given at the CCD level, as this level is the smallest commonly used geographic building block. The CCD figures are aggregated to show the totals for SLAs, which are comprised of a number of CCDs. Being somewhat larger than CCDs, SLAs may be more manageable for those who are interested in less detailed analysis. Totals for each division and the state are also given.

The type of SLA is denoted by a suffix. This is described in detail in the ABS publication *Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC), 2008*. Briefly, the relevant SLA types are:

(B)	Borough
(C)	City
(RC)	Rural Cities
(S)	Shire

The statistics shown are broken down according to electoral division. Where a CCD or SLA crosses divisional boundaries, the CCD or SLA concerned will be listed in each division in which electors are enrolled. Only those electors resident in that division are included in the figures for such CCDs or SLAs.

Two sets of enrolment statistics are shown in the Enrolment Projections tables (which are provided on the Victorian redistribution enrolment projections webpage). Data is listed for **1 February 2010**, which is the enrolment at close of business on the day the Australian Electoral Commission directed the commencement of the redistribution. These figures were used for the Electoral Commissioner's determination of the enrolment quota under section 65 of the *Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918*. The quota for Victoria is 94 040. Projected enrolment figures at **17 June 2014** are also given.

A Growth (%) is provided. This is the estimated growth rate for the period February 2010 to June 2014. The growth rate shown for each CCD is calculated by subtracting the actual enrolment from the projected enrolment, then dividing by the actual enrolment. The result is expressed as a percentage.

The tables show total numbers of CCDs or part CCDs, and the total enrolments and growth rates for each existing electoral division in Victoria, as well as a total for the state. They also show, for each existing electoral division, the name of each SLA in the division, the identifier number of each CCD or part CCD in the division, the two sets of enrolment figures and the growth rates applicable to each CCD, part CCD and SLA, with totals for the division.

Maps of existing electoral division boundaries are available for purchase from the office of the State Manager for Victoria, Level 8, Casselden Place, 2 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000 (Telephone 03 9285 7177). Maps of census collection districts may be obtained from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

DATA - CSV FILE

A CSV file is included as a separate link. This file includes enrolment and projected enrolment for each CCD or part CCD. The file is sorted by electoral division and contains the following information:

Division Name; SLA Name; CCD Number; Actual Enrolment; Projected Enrolment.

If technical difficulties are experienced in accessing this data, please e-mail: vicredistribution@aec.gov.au or telephone the number above.

Access to a computer with the software program, Electoral Boundary Mapping System (EBMS), which runs within the commercial software program MapInfo, will be made available for interested persons at the office of the Redistribution Committee for Victoria.

Bookings will be required and can be made by telephoning (03) 9285 7177 during business hours (9.00 am to 5.00 pm). Some knowledge of the systems will be assumed and only a brief introduction can be offered. Access to this system will be available during the periods allowed for suggestions, comments on suggestions, objections and comments on objections.